Apply now for the 19th annual MANDIs

The Milwaukee Awards for Neighborhood Development Innovation (known as the MANDIs) recognize individuals, organizations and projects that enrich central city neighborhoods.

Three finalists are selected in each award category and announced prior to the event. The winner in each category is announced at the MANDI Ceremony on Thursday, March 15, 2018 at Potawatomi Event Center 1611 W. Canal Street.

Potawatomi Event Center

Save the date!
Award ceremony will be held on March 15, 2018
Potawatomi Hotel and Casino
1611 W. Canal Street
Milwaukee, WI 53233 (Map)

Sign in

Use your account from previous years if you have one or register a new one.

Trouble signing in?

Presenting sponsor: US Bank

The application period has not yet opened. We will begin accepting applications soon.


  • New category

    Chase Economic Development Award

    Honors outstanding programs that stimulate economic and business development on a neighborhood scale.

  • BMO Harris Bank Cornerstone Award

    Honors an organization or program with a long-standing commitment to a neighborhood and demonstrated effectiveness over time.

    Last year's winner: Silver Spring Neighborhood Center

    Located across the street from Westlawn Gardens, Wisconsin's largest low-income public housing development, Silver Spring Neighborhood Center builds and strengthens community by developing long-term relationships, supporting and educating residents of all ages, and paving a path to self-sufficiency.

  • Brewers Community Foundation Public Space Award

    Honors the use of public space that contributes to the overall well-being of the community.

    Last year's winner: Johnsons Park Revitalization, Lindsay Heights neighborhood

    Johnsons Park had fallen into disrepair until an initiative spearheaded by the Center for Resilient Cities transformed it into a space for sports, recreation and entertainment.

    Formerly the Brewers Community Foundation Public Space Award

  • Northern Trust Navigator Award

    Honors an individual demonstrating leadership and collaboration for change.

    Last year's winner: Darryll Johnson, Executive Director, Riverworks Development Corporation

    Darryl Johnson has led several major projects that are changing the outlook in Harambee, including helping to secure a grant to fund programming for the Beerline Trail.

  • PNC Trailblazer Award

    Honors an innovative approach to a problem that is producing demonstrative results.

    Last year's winner: Historic Wally Schmidt Tavern Redevelopment, Fix Development and Jeremey Davis

    A new development model makes Lindsay Heights residents co-owners and co-developers of a renovated, job-creating property that houses small businesses and a sit-down restaurant.

  • State Farm Building Blocks Award

    Honors a real estate project that contributes significantly to the enhancement of the community.

    Last year's winner: Innovations and Wellness Commons, Walnut Way Conservation Corporation

    Walnut Way's Innovations and Wellness Commons has filled a void in Lindsay Heights, a neighborhood short on healthy food options.

Wells Fargo People's Choice Awards

An interactive award category where the winner is chosen by the public through an online voting system. The three groups with the most votes received $1,000. Last year's winners were Silver Spring Neighborhood Center, Milwaukee Christian Center, and Journey House Community Garden.

  • Milwaukee Christian Center

    For nearly a century, Milwaukee Christian Center has provided innovative programs to meet the needs of Milwaukee's south side immigrant and low-income families.

  • Journey House Community Garden

    The Journey House Community Garden in Clarke Square began with 150 front porch conversations in the dead of winter. A clear theme emerged—residents wanted a beautiful, safe place where neighbors could meet and grow their own food.

  • BMO Harris
  • Brewers Community Foundation
  • Chase
  • Northern Trust
  • Northwestern Mutual Foundation
  • PNC Bank
  • State Farm
  • Wells Fargo